Yaesu FT-60R reviews

Handheld VHF/UHF Transceiver
Hide foreign languages
Reviewed by
sanedraCDJ
Review date
Oct 10th, 15:05
Purchased
New in 2014
USD  179.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
5 of 5
User friendliness
5 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Yaesu FT60R Great HT.

Great HT wide Rx/Tx : 108 to 999.998 MHz this includes air,marine,vhf and uhf bands and the most value for the money. spend a little more and replaced the stock antenna with Diamond antenna SRH701 for wide receive and transmiting. FT60R is also great for scanning frequencies.

73,
8ZJDC

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
sanedraCDJ
Review date
Oct 10th, 14:30
Purchased
New in 2014
USD  0.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
5 of 5
User friendliness
5 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Great HT with excelent feature.

I have owned 1 HT and 1 Base station both Icom Brand use for monitoring on VHF frequencies. The Yaesu FT60R was on my wishlist and have it for mobile modulation and monitoring for all bands vhf/uhf/marine/airband, the FT60R value for the money and great HT for everyday use.

Yaesu FT60R simply the Best HT for newbie and professional HAM's.

73,
8ZJDC

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
KM8A
Review date
Dec 29th 2012, 21:56
Purchased
New in 2008
USD  125.00
Performance
4 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
4 of 5
User friendliness
4 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Solid HT

This was the first amateur radio I owned, and it's still in daily use. I work in public safety, and the wide-band receive feature is very helpful in my work. This radio is lightweight, durable, and easy to use.

Programming from the keypad is somewhat time-consuming, but the available computer software makes it a breeze to add channels.

I've used this radio with an Arrow dual-band directional antenna to work satellite contacts... the custom split feature is useful for this purpose.

I would recommend this transceiver as a low-cost way for a newly-licensed ham to get on the air through local 2M or 440 repeaters.

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
cebu_2k4
Review date
Aug 5th 2011, 10:25
Purchased
New in 2010
USD  255.00
Performance
4 of 5
Build quality
3 of 5
Features
3 of 5
User friendliness
3 of 5
Value for money
4 of 5

Transmit Error at 430 - 450 MHz

I bought my Yaesu FT-60R VHF/UHF Transceiver here in the Philippines with a good price. Transmitting at 144 - 146 MHz is good but I've notice that when I transmit at UHF frequency from 430 - 450 MHz the rig Displays-ERROR. Did I do something wrong with the setting? Please help. . . Thanks. . DU8-JUN. . .

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
TODD
Review date
Jun 20th 2011, 08:16
Purchased
Used in 2010
USD  150.00
Performance
4 of 5
Build quality
2 of 5
Features
4 of 5
User friendliness
3 of 5
Value for money
4 of 5

GOOD RADIO ,EASY TO MOD

GOOD RADIO ,EASY TO MOD.
DOES NOT STAND UP
THE SPEAKER/MIC PLUG WILL NOT STAY IN ON
ANY OF THE FT-60,VERY BAD DESIGN, FOR MANY YRS
YAESU WILL NOT FIX IT.
BATTERIES DON'T LAST A LONG TIME

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
KJ4VOV
Review date
May 15th 2011, 04:26
Purchased
New in 2010
USD  250.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
4 of 5
User friendliness
4 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Durable and reliable

This was my first HT and I've never once regretted the purchase. It's durable, reliable, easy to program and operate and has never let me down.

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
khendr01
Review date
Dec 6th 2010, 14:32
Purchased
New in 2008
EUR  ?
Performance
2 of 5
Build quality
1 of 5
Features
3 of 5
User friendliness
1 of 5
Value for money
1 of 5

Rounded Bottom Sucks

The radio is a fine radio, RF-wise. But mechanically, it has a rounded bottom. You cannot stand the radio up and expect it to stay standing up. It will fall over.

Because of this horrible condition, I rate this a very poor radio.

73,
Ken N8KH

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
KJ4KKI
Review date
Aug 10th 2010, 07:33
Purchased
New in 2009
USD  189.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
5 of 5
User friendliness
5 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Love my FT-60

I've had mine for just a little over a year. I love it. Besides being a top performer, it has a durable case and seems to be a tough little radio. I like it because it is not so small that it looks like a toy, and the shape reminds me of professional grade HTs, such as I used in public safety work. Actually, if I didn't know it costs $189, I would have guessed it to be a professional level radio. I can hit our repeaters anywhere in town and have talked 30+ miles to a repeater on it. It's an amazing little radio. Buy the software for it. It makes programming and editing the banks a breeze. I have ADMS, but G4HFQ writes software for Yaesu brand radios and sells it cheap, but you have to get your own cable. For base units, CAT software is available for download also. ADMS and G4HFQ software both allow some interchanging of freqs between models, depending on the radio and software versions. If you're thinking of buying this radio...do it! You won't regret it. Plus, with it covering the 800 level freqs, I listen to all the public safety agencies. It isn't digital, but it will pick up trunked systems if they are still analog.

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
W6TMV
Review date
Jun 8th 2010, 18:11
Purchased
New in 2007
USD  135.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
5 of 5
User friendliness
4 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

FT 60R

Great little hand held - replaced my old FT408R finally and really like the options and features on this unit - two bands, built in tone generation, storage...finally had to give up on my old brick...

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
N2OBS
Review date
Oct 26th 2009, 22:54
Purchased
New in 2008
USD  150.00
Performance
5 of 5
Build quality
5 of 5
Features
5 of 5
User friendliness
5 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

FT-60R

Love mine. Very compact, direct entry keyboard and use my on a daily activity.

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member

Reviewed by
NE3R
Review date
Apr 4th 2009, 19:13
Purchased
New in 2009
USD  189.99
Performance
4 of 5
Build quality
3 of 5
Features
3 of 5
User friendliness
3 of 5
Value for money
5 of 5

Yaesu FT-60R Review

I've only had this radio for a few months. I bought it because it used the same battery and accessories as the VX-170. I needed a 70cm handheld for my role supporting backup inauguration communications and was about to buy the VX-177 when I found this radio for not much more. It worked well for that event.

I often find myself hitting the 0 key, which enables some sort of DTMF transmit function that really drives me crazy. I don't like it as much as the VX-170, but it does have a knob for the squelch.

Would you like to comment?
Join RigReference for a free account, or sign-in if you are already a member


Yaesu FT-60R ratings
Performance
Build quality
Features
Ergonomics
Value for money
Overall
Based on 11 reviews

Stay connected

© 2008 - 2014  RigReference.com
RigReference.com is a community web site for (ham) radio operators. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact us at .

View this site in English | Deutsch | Nederlands

About us | Terms of use | Contact

Loading...